So Sayeth the Odinson: The Odinson Borrows Stan Lee’s Soap Box and Vents

Greetings from the Odinson,

The Odinson’s Year in Review must be pushed back a week for I have a bone to pick, several actually.  There have been several incidents this past week that have caught my attention with varying degrees of ire.  So if you’ll indulge me a moment and let me borrow Stan Lee’s Soap Box and allow me to vent.

There were two articles this last week one titled Geek Violence and the other Geek Film News.  One is about a couple of terrible incidents that happened that involved an argument over the Walking Dead and Collector Glassware this article refers to these things as “geek culture.”  The other was providing information on some highly anticipated movies.  GEEK Violence, GEEK Film News, GEEK culture – it’s the use, or labeling rather, of the word geek that is bending me out of shape.  I know “geek” is a silly word and this really shouldn’t bother me as much as it does, but I can’t help it.  It reminds me of other media labels that need to go the way of the dodo, labels like “spandex movie” or “spandex saga.”

These labels trivialize the very subject matter they’re supposed to be describing.  Maybe that was the intent.  I don’t know.  And while I’m on the subject, since when did awesome movies like Terminator and Highlander become “geek films?”  And what does that even mean?  Alas, I know this shouldn’t bother me as much as it does, but c’est la vie.

Moving on…  I love the character of Superman so much, what he represents and what he has meant to the history of comic books and pop culture in general.  So, as you can imagine, I am beside myself with anticipation for the new Superman movie, Man of Steel, due for release next June.  There are very few things that can drag me to a midnight release.  A new Star Wars movie is one and a new Superman movie is another (though I am 0-2 on last two excursions, for they were Attack of the Clones and Superman Returns).

I was completely under whelmed with the Man of Steel teaser that accompanied the Dark Knight Rises movie.  I felt like they were trying to turn Superman into something he’s not, dark and gritty, solemn and emo.  I did however go back and watch the teaser several times recently and my stance on it has softened, a little bit.  If you close your eyes and just listen to what Jor-El and Pa Kent are saying to Kal-El/Clark, the message is there.  And it’s strong.  And it is definitely “Superman.”

But then this past week I hit a speed bump.  They released the poster for the film and I absolutely hate it.  It’s an image of the Man of Tomorrow in handcuffs, being led by soldiers (see Man of Steel Poster).  Obviously, since the restraints aren’t glowing green, I know the Last Son of Krypton is allowing himself to be taken into custody and I get that this is part of the story plot to establish Superman as this alien outsider that the world has to come to trust.  And that’s fine.  But this is the Man of Steel’s triumphant return to the Big Screen.  Couldn’t we have been treated to something more positive and heroic, not something so, what’s the word I’m looking for, depressing?

On this same note, on the same day this poster was released, I was reading an article about the film and in this article something very curious was mentioned.  For years and years the Odinson has heard the naysayers and jeers of those who couldn’t stand Superman’s red shorts, as if this garment was holding him back from being something special.  Well, they finally got their wish as both in the movie and with the horrible redesign of his costume in the New 52, Superman is sans red shorts.  What I found rather funny and ironic is that this article was asking – where are the red shorts?  And even went so far as to call the movie-makers out on “not believing in tradition anymore.”  And so the pendulum continues to swing.

So there you have it, just a couple of things that ruffled the Odinson’s feathers this past week.  I feel much better now.  Sometimes it’s good to vent a little.  Stan, you can have your soap box back.  Be here next week as the Odinson does his annual Year in Review.

This is Odinson bidding thee farewell

About Odinson

I am a lifelong comics fan and pop culture enthusiast. Comic books, novels, games, television, movies, I love it all. From fantasy to science fiction, drama to comedy, as long as the writing and execution are interesting, I love it, and I want to talk about it.

Leave a Reply

