New Comics Week 3/29/17: In Which DC Gets Its Saturday Morning On and I Watch A Lot of Movie Trailers

DC/Hanna-Barbera crossovers. DC has done such a brilliant job with the Hanna-Barbera license that it should come as no surprise that they hit the nail on the head crossing some of those characters over with DC superheroes. Adam Strange/Future Quest is kind of a no-brainer team-up and artist Steve Lieber slides into the style of the Future Quest world with ease. Booster Gold/Flintstones is a wonderful romp with Booster getting stuck in the past while trying to head off an alien invasion, though the Jetsons backup from Palmiotti/Conner and Pier Brito is the best thing in the issue as Rosie the Robot gets a surprising origin. Green Lantern/Space Ghost has a very classic meet-squabble-team-up and squabble some more structure that works well for the two surly heroes and Ariel Olivetti’s art is perfect for the story. Howard Chaykin brings us a Ruff n’ Reddy backup in GL/SG that could have been a scrapped American Century piece about comedy duos in the early days of television that’s begging to be expanded upon. The winner of the four though is Suicide Squad/Banana Splits which sees the Splits sent to Belle Reve and then recruited by Waller to rescue the Squad. It’s a perfect fusion of both properties and the art from Ben Caldwell is eye-popping. These books are all just pure fun and bode quite well for the upcoming DC/Looney Tunes crossovers.

I love the Archie horror line so much, even though it treats me so poorly. I can’t remember the last time I saw a new issue of Afterlife or Sabrina, but honestly they’re so good that I don’t even care. That’s why I have no problem getting invested in a one-shot like Jughead: The Hunger from Frank Tieri and Michael Walsh that gives the man known for eating a taste for blood. The art of the one-shot is tricky, especially in the age of decompression, but Tieri nails it creating atmosphere and giving the story a solid ending while still leaving me wanting more.

So it feels like the last couple of weeks have been just jam-packed with movie trailers for flicks I already know I’m going to go see…still, it’s fun to excitedly form strong opinions based on 2.5 minutes of 120+ minute-long, million dollar blockbusters so that means it’s Trailer Time!
Spider-Man: Homecoming– Lordy do I hate how much of Miles’ story they’ve lifted and given to Peter here, especially with this Ned “Ganke” Leeds character. It’s especially weird since miles has an animated movie of his own coming up. I’m also not a huge fan of him getting the cool suit taken away halfway through so he can ‘earn’ it back. On the plus side, Tom Holland still seems to be born for this role and Keaton looks like he’s bringing the right energy to the Vulture.

War For the Planet of the Apes– This series has kind of quietly become one of the best sci-fi epics in recent times and this latest installment shows no signs of dropping the ball. Woody Harrelson seems divine as the kind-of-insane-seeming leader of humanity’s renaming military and the action looks absolutely breathtaking. Even with the added bombast, Andy Serkis and the legion of animators behind Caesar remain the most arresting thing on the screen which is good as his believability is what these movies hinge on.
Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets– This is everything that I want in a movie. Please just shove it into my face holes immediately. Luc Besson is a visual master and if DC isn’t courting him to do something with the New Gods, I have completely lost my faith in massive international media conglomerates.
It– Stephen King’s It holds a very special place in my heart. My family was visiting my aunt in Chicago and I had finished whatever book I had been reading and went to her bookshelf to find something else. That’s when I pulled this gem off the shelf. I was the same age (11-12) as the Loser’s Club kids in the books, and maybe that’s why the book hit me so hard, but I’ve read it about 10 times since then and it’s been my favorite King book ever since. That’s the long way of saying “I have pretty high standards for an adaptation” and man did this trailer deliver causing me to go from ‘dreading’ to ‘cautiously optimistic’ on this one.
Justice League– At this point, it’s pretty hard to form thoughts about DC movies based on the trailers, because they all have danged good ones. The MoS trailer was inspiring in ways the movie didn’t seem interesting, BvS’ trailer rested on the “Do you bleed?” line but a lot of the film’s intensity and forward momentum had been sucked out by the time it was delivered, and Suicide Squad with its gorgeous muted-neon aesthetic and well-edited banter gave no indication how poorly cut together the movie itself was. Still, like Mulder, I want to believe and darn it if this movie doesn’t look fun. Drunquaman riding on top of the Batmobile? Barry + Bruce = BFFs? Parademons? How can you not be a little bit excited for it?

Leave a Reply

