So Sayeth the Odinson: Uh Oh! A Snafu for Marvel Legacy Numbering?

Greetings from the Odinson,

 

A few weeks ago, the Odinson discussed Marvel’s return to Legacy Numbering – see The Good and Bad of Marvel Legacy.  As I said in that column, I am all for Marvel Comics returning to their Legacy Numbering. If we cannot have tight continuity, then a sense of History is the next best thing.  However, I also pointed out a few flaws I perceived in the execution of the project, flaws a few fans have pushed back and challenged me on.  That’s okay, discussion is one of the pillars of comic book collecting.  I go into great detail about these perceived flaws in the column above.

 

What I want to point out here today is yet another example of this being a great idea, but perhaps rushed a little and not fully thought out.

 

Take a look at the picture below for the Master of Kung Fu’s legacy numbering chart.  Do you see anything wrong?

https://i2.wp.com/www.diamondcomics.com/SiteData/Downloads/MarvelTools/MASTER_OF_KUNG_FU_LEGACY_CHART.jpg

That’s right, Master of Kung Fu #1-16 and Special Marvel Edition #110-125 do not exist.  Shang Chi made his first appearances in Special Marvel Edition #15-16 and then the series became Master of Kung Fu with issue #17.  Shang Chi’s Legacy Numbering should read like #1-16 – Special Marvel Edition (1971), #17-125 – Master of Kung Fu (1974).  NOTE: As I have illustrated in the previous column above, Shang Chi’s numbering should actually begin with Special Marvel Edition #15, Shang Chi’s first appearance, but I am not in charge of the project.

 

When I first saw this image, I thought I was being trolled, but upon further contemplation, I just think it is further evidence of a good idea being executed clumsily in some places.

 

Another example is the Power Pack Legacy Numbering chart.  Notice anything missing?

https://i1.wp.com/www.diamondcomics.com/SiteData/Downloads/MarvelTools/POWER_PACK_LEGACY_CHART.jpg

How about the fact that the Legacy Numbering chart completely ignores the existence of Power Pack (2000 2nd Series) #1-4 and Power Pack (2005 3rd Series) #1-4, and I’m not even including Avengers and Power Pack Pack: Assemble (2006) #1-4, Fantastic Four and Power Pack (2007) #1-4, Hulk and Power Pack (2007) #1-4, Iron Man/Power Pack (2007) #1-4, and Power Pack: One Day (2008) #1-4, nor am I including the graphic novel Power Pack and Cloak and Dagger: Shelter from the Storm (1989) and the 1-shot Power Pack Holiday Special (1992), but perhaps Marvel should have.

 

Unless by excluding these titles Marvel is telling us, the readers, that everything that has happened with the Power kids since their original series ended in 1991, every single adventure these kids have had in the last 25+ years has not been in continuity.  If that is the case, if I were a Power Pack fan, this would upset me quite a bit.  It kind of reminds me of a certain Clone Saga, more specifically Spectacular Spider-Man #226 when I, a huge Spider-Man fan, was told that the Spider-Man I had been reading for the previous twenty years since Amazing Spider-Man #149 was an imposter.  As a fan, that was like a gut-punch.  Well, Marvel rectified that decision. I guess Power Pack fans can only hope they do the same for their beloved characters.

 

Now, let me go on record here, and allow the Odinson to be very, very clear – I believe Marvel Comics returning to its Legacy Numbering is a FANTASTIC idea.  I just think the process could have been executed a little better.

 

For those fans that want to read their favorite Marvel Comics using the Legacy numbering system, the Odinson is hard at work getting those lists together.  Here are the titles that I have completed so far – Marvel Legacy Numbering.

 

This is Odinson bidding thee farewell

 

NOTE: The Odinson’s book is now available for purchase!  Five strong women who have all lived through vicious attacks by a demented madman team up to seek out the murderer that haunts a small east Texas town and attempt to end his reign of terror once and for all.  For those interested, just follow this link – The Survivors: A Glen Haven Tale.

 

About Odinson

I am a lifelong comics fan and pop culture enthusiast. Comic books, novels, games, television, movies, I love it all. From fantasy to science fiction, drama to comedy, as long as the writing and execution are interesting, I love it, and I want to talk about it.

Leave a Reply

