So Sayeth the Odinson: 2018 The Year in Review: Part 3 of 3 – The TV and Movies

Greetings from the Odinson,

2018 The Year in Review: Part 3 of 3 – The TV and Movies

As far as television was concerned in 2018, unfortunately, the Odinson did not partake in much.  There was no Game of Thrones or Twin Peaks in 2018 to peak my interest.  I have not pulled the trigger on WestWorld: Season 2 yet.  And, I still have not dove into the deep water in the WB DC shows, much to my dismay.  With so many other options available and so few hours in the day, the Odinson has found it harder and harder to make time for TV shows. 

However, I did make time for one.

The TV:

Daredevil: Season 3 – Loosely based on Frank Miller’s seminal DD tale Born Again, hands down, this is the best Season of any of the Netflix produced Marvel shows since Daredevil: Season 1.  From the main cast to the supporting characters, this is a quality show.

In all the years I have read Daredevil comics I have never liked the Foggy Nelson character as much as I have watching Elden Henson bring him to life for this series.  They finally introduce the Yin to DD’s Yang Bullseye in this season and it’s amazing.  Here’s an interesting side note, Wilson Bethel, the actor that portrays Bullseye in this season, was actually one of the actors that tried out for the role of Steve Rogers back when Marvel Studios was casting for Captain America: The First Avenger.  Plus, Vincent D’Onofrio’s portrayal of Wilson Fisk the Kingpin of Crime is next level.   

There are two scenes from this season that really stand out for me.  Pretty early on, Daredevil confronts a faux Daredevil, a.k.a. Bullseye, at the newspaper offices and what follows is one of the most magical super hero vs. villain battles that looks like it was pulled right off the pages of the source material.

The second scene that is just as amazing is the final showdown between Daredevil and the Kingpin.  These are two men that have had everything stripped away and there is nothing left in the world but their unbridled hatred for each other.  The entire three season run of the series has led to this moment.  It culminates with primal screams from Charlie Cox as Matt Murdock and Vincent D’Onofrio as Wilson Fisk that gives the Odinson goosebumps even as he types this sentence.      

Even though the door is closing on the Netflix Marvel Universe there is no doubt this show and these characters will return in some capacity on Disney’s own streaming channel.  Whether it will be with this amazing cast or not remains to be seen.  In the end, Netflix gave us 3 solid seasons of the Man without Fear and the Odinson is very happy with what they produced.

Odinson Rating: 4 1/2 out of 5 Hammers

The Movies:

Coming into 2018, in the wake of 2017’s Star Wars: The Last Jedi, a film that has polarized the fan base and has been debated Ad nauseam, the staunch movie fan that resides within the soul of the Odinson was left more than a little broken and disenfranchised.  No matter which side of the argument you may fall, I can only tell thee how that film affected me.   Because of this malaise, for the very first time in my life, my love for the cinema was found wanting.  Due to this, I did not go to the movies in 2018 as often as I normally would in any other given year and as a result I did not see many noteworthy films in 2018 like Tomb Raider, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom, Ant-Man and Wasp, The Incredibles 2, Venom, and Bumblebee.

In fact, of all the movies on this list, the Odinson only actually saw three of them in the Cineplex – Avengers: Infinity War, Halloween, and Aquaman.  The rest I either saw upon DVD release or on a streaming service. 

Black Panther – We truly live a magical time when not only do we see the character of T’Challa on the big Screen, but he is the star of his very own smash Box Office Hit!  Marvel Studios is truly doing a fantastic job bringing all these wonderful characters and the universe they live in to life.  All these amazing things we have been reading about for decades, are finally getting the credit they deserve and showing the world that this so called fringe medium, something that has been looked down on for years and years, is actually pretty awesome. 

Odinson Rating: 4 out of 5 Hammers

Ready Player One – Two words: EYE CANDY.  This film is utter eye candy.  Not since South Park’s Imagination Land trilogy have I seen so many unabashed appearances, call outs, and Easter Eggs from the realms of pop culture as I did in Ready Player One.  If you are, or have been at any time in your life, a lover of video games, comic books, anime, cartoons, and movies then this is a film that was made just for you.  Of all the movies I did actually see this year only two kept an ear-to-ear grin permanently etched on the Odinson’s face from opening shot to the closing credits, the last entry on this list, and Ready Player One.

Odinson Rating: 5 out of 5 Hammers

Avengers: Infinity War – What can I say about this phenomenal achievement other than they pulled it off.  10 years led up to this moment and they absolutely pulled it off.  My hat is off to Marvel StudiosBravo!  Plus, they left the uninformed movie audiences, you know, those that don’t actually read comic books, with the most delicious cliffhanger since Empire Strikes Back.

Odinson Rating: 4 1/2 out of 5 Hammers

Deadpool 2 – This was absolutely one of the funniest movies of the year.  Only one other film in 2018 (Tag) made the Odinson laugh out loud as much as D2.  Plus, this film had one of the most unexpected and joy-inducing appearances by a character and one of the Odinson’s All-Time favorite Marvel villains – (SPOILERS for a movie that was released way back in May) – The Juggernaut!!!  I actually got to see the mighty Colossus vs. Juggernaut on the Big Screen!  Just saying that out loud makes me smile.

Odinson Rating: 4 out of 5 Hammers

Solo: A Star Wars Story – Even though the first 30 minutes or so of this film are a bit clunky and awkward, as the film progresses, there is enough fan service and uniquely and truly Star Wars-like moments to make this film a solid addition to the cannon.    

Odinson Rating: 3 out of 5 Hammers

Halloween – This is the film that reignited my love for the cinema.  When I heard John Carpenter was involved with the making of this highly worthy sequel there was no way the Odinson was missing out.  For my full review of the film see The Halloween Hangover column I did back in November.

That scene when the neighborhood is alive with trick-or-treaters and good Halloween cheer and Michael Myers is just roaming amongst the festivities and going from house-to-house and doing what Michael Myers does still haunts me to this day.  There is just something about the randomness and how this shark that walks like a man, this predator, emotionlessly just devours everything in his path that makes this a stand out, truly scary, and an instant classic horror movie moment.      

Odinson Rating: 4 1/2 out of 5 Hammers

Aquaman – I am not going to bury the lede here, I absolutely loved, LOVED, this movie.  THIS is everything that is good about the movies.  Aquaman is, hands down, the best DCEU film so far, and it isn’t even close.  It is the best DC film since Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight.  I have nothing but positive things to say about this movie.

The second I saw Arthur in that unmistakable orange and green outfit in the trailer Warner Bros. had sold a ticket.  It reminded me of that very first trailer for the first Iron Man movie.  The first time we all saw Iron Man and he actually looked like Iron Man and not some Hollywood misguided interpretation of what Iron Man should look like and I was sold.

Whenever I see those lists and pics on the internet when somebody backhandedly says here is how your heroes would look if they looked more like the comics, and they show the actors in outfits that more reflect the source material but they are trying to be condescending, it has the opposite effect on the Odinson. I see that and I am like YES.  That is what I want!

In this film Aquaman, Mera, Ocean Master, and the Trench all look like their comic book counterparts.  I cannot believe I live in a world where I got to see Black Manta in all his glory on the Big Screen and he actually looks like the Black Manta from my childhood when I used to thrill to the adventures of the Super Friends every Saturday morning!

Aquaman reminds me of all those wonderful fantasy and sci-fi movies from my childhood, films like Clash of the Titans, Flash Gordon, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and The Goonies, films that did not take themselves too seriously and actually embraced the absurdity of their content and just unabashedly give it to us.  Like these films, Aquaman takes the audience on a larger than life journey that tantalizes the imagination.

Aquaman doesn’t subdue its pallet with a dreary colorless wash.  No, it embraces the brightness and positivity, that very essence that makes the DC Universe great and different from its distinguished competition.  Dark and gritty works for Batman because he is the DARK Knight and fights crime on the street level.  Dark and gritty does not work and never should be applied to heroes like Superman.  And, unshaven, hoody-wearing, sullen and shoulders slouched walking across the land with Alice n’ Chains playing over the scene absolutely does not work for Superman! 

Aquaman the movie is bright and beautiful and it was one hell of a good time at the movies. 

Odinson Rating: 5 out of 5 Hammers

2019 has the final season of Game of Thrones, Godzilla: King of the Monsters, Avengers: End Game, and more in store for us, and I for one cannot wait!

This is Odinson bidding thee farewell     

About Odinson

I am a lifelong comics fan and pop culture enthusiast. Comic books, novels, games, television, movies, I love it all. From fantasy to science fiction, drama to comedy, as long as the writing and execution are interesting, I love it, and I want to talk about it.

Leave a comment